Few years ago, a friend of mine bought me a cupcake from a well known bakery. It was one of the cutest cupcake I’ve come across.

But I did not finish eating it. As a matter of fact, I hated it and off into the trash it went.

It was too sugary, too much fondant (imho!)and the cake was too dense for my liking. It was also a little stale, probably from being on display for too long?

Anyway, having that experience made me sidetrack cupcakes for dessert for a while. Few more cupcakes made its way down my path but I somehow dodged it.

Now years later, I was ready to have cupcakes again and instead of going to that shop, I made my own. This time, we clicked. 🙂

Baked lil' babies cooling off

Baked lil’ babies cooling off

Ooops on the double layer!

One down, few more to go

One down, few more to go

IMG_4475a

The recipe I followed worked perfectly, with the cupcake being soft and fluffy. I love coffee in my cake so coffee flavoured it was. Topped it with a spiral of mocha-laced frosting, it was my idea of cupcake heaven.

With that, it was time for a reconciliation. Bon appetit!